Skip to content

Gone Too Early

Our family friend Matizella often joined us for Sunday dinner with my MIL. She was beautiful both inside and out, and a sweet disposition. She came to America with other family members, and worked her way up the ladder. She saved money to send  for each one of her family members. Once they arrived in America she would help them find a job, and each one went to college.Picture 17

This photo is when my daughter turned 2 years old. We had no idea at the time that this would be one of the last times we would see her. One of the harsh lessons of life, every moment is precious!

My mother in law and Martizella were very close. She was like a daughter my mother in law never had. The two of them went on vacation together, and the two of them had a spat over something trivial. One of them wanted to do something the other did not and they did not speak to each other. Then one day…It was very, very, hot that day. I finally had some alone time. My husband took the kids out so I could spend some time alone. I wanted to watch a foreign flick, so I watched “Italian For Beginners”. It is not a movie you want to watch with children, barking dogs, or any other distracting elements. Anyway, I was really getting into the movie when the phone started to ring, ring, and ring. It must be important since this person is unrelenting with the phone calls.

I went to answer the phone. “Hello”, I hear nothing on the other end…”Hello”, I say with a sarcastic, questioning tone. Martizella ask me “Can you talk?” I tell her “Not right now, I am trying to watch a movie that I have wanted to see for a while now.” She then says “Alright, I will call you at another time.” I start to get back into the movie. The phone starts again..I answer, and it is Martizella. I ask her, “Can this wait?” She says, “No, I can’t wait!” This is very important. I sit down on the stool by the phone. She proceeds to tell me “I have an advance stage of cancer, and it is terminal.” What? YOU HAVE CANCER? Yes, she says. I don’t know how long I have to live. I want you to make me a promise. OK! What is it that you want me to do? She then tells me that she doesn’t want me to tell my mother in law that she is sick. I promise her that I won’t tell her.

My husband arrives home, and he ask me what is wrong. I tell him about Martizella, and he says that he will be the one to tell his mom. He tells her, and she says “Oh great, she gets sicker than I am.” The two of them never spoke to each other again. My mother in law died before Martizella, and she was too sick to come to the funeral of my MIL. The two of them had cancer at the same time, and instead of being friends to the end they never shared the love they felt for one another. Every moment we have on earth is time to forgive each other and move forward. We all have our flaws, when we say sorry we need to accept the apology instead of waiting for the “right” apology. We are human, we make mistakes.

Love each other!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

