Skip to content

How I Was Saved By A Friend

Working long days as a lifeguard may sound glamorous, but not after the summer when everyone is back at school. There was a longing in my heart for something bigger, something better. Water Safety Instructor classes were on my agenda, but college was not. My apartment was becoming like an isolation chamber.

As I was out walking around the lake one day I happened to meet a friend  I knew in High School. He invited me to his apartment, and we talked for so long. We had rich conversations about politics without insulting each other. We talked about history, and books we couldn’t live without and why.

Once after reading a book and discussing the book he asked me “Why aren’t you in college?”  I told him “I don’t know, after high school I was working.” He told me to apply, but I just didn’t know where to start. I got into school, and I just loved it!

To this day David knows he was my guardian angel! We have been friends for so long, and I couldn’t imagine what my life would have been like if we did not meet again like we did. Thanks David!!!

8 Comments Post a comment
  1. Paula Kiger (Big Green Pen) #

    I love this story – what a gift your friend gave you!!

    January 3, 2013
    • He is a blessing! I believe people come into your lives at the right time. Everyone has something to learn from someone else. We have to be good listeners, and willing to pay it forward.

      January 3, 2013
  2. This is a really really nice story.

    January 3, 2013
  3. Thank you so much!

    January 3, 2013
  4. Kim, you had the intelligence, drive and desire at all times, I may have opened a door for you, but you sprinted accross the threshhold without any help. You are beautiful! Love you!

    January 4, 2013
    • Thank you David! You mean so very much to me. You have been a great friend with so much to offer to so many. You are a blessing!

      January 4, 2013
  5. What a blessing to have a friend like that! It feels good to have someone believe in us when it is hard for us to believe in ourselves.

    January 7, 2013
    • Keeping your positive friends close. Having positive friends that help elevate you,and want to share their lives are the ones to keep. People that get joy by ripping your heart out are not really friends.

      January 8, 2013

Leave a Reply

