Skip to content

Lou Lou

My daughter had the ugliest doll named Lou Lou. I am not sure where she came up with the name, but she loved the doll and the name. The doll had no hair and the thing frightened me. I am not sure what it was about the doll, but it seemed supernatural. My daughter wanted to take that thing with her everywhere too. We took it with us, everywhere.

She gave Lou Lou a bath one too many times and water was stuck inside the head of Lou Lou. I tried to dry her out in the sun, and everything else, but she was starting to smell funny. I had to come up with a plan to find a new home for Lou Lou.

The three of us went to the little drug store by our house. We purchased a new doll while we were at the  drug store. My daughter was not very happy about the doll, but I really tried to sell the doll to her. She was still stuck on Lou Lou. When we left the drug store I “accidentally” left Lou Lou in the cart. We went back home, and the discovery was made that Lou Lou was gone. I went back the next day to see if we could find Lou Lou, and there was in the cart. No one would take that thing.

Things had gotten serious. I had to replace Lou Lou. I ordered an American Girl baby doll. It came via UPS, so I had to take it out of the box, get rid of the box, and hide the doll downstairs for my next plan.

This part sounds horrible, but it is true. I took a baby aspirin and smashed it. I told my kids that it was fairy dust, and the youngest in the family got one wish. My daughter wished Lou Lou would get better. I told her that we could use the fairy dust in the washer so that Lou Lou would have a new life.

We all stuck Lou Lou in the washer, and the fairy dust. I pretended to hear something downstairs, and I had to check on the banging noise. I took Lou Lou out of the washer. Got rid of all the material that the new doll came with and hid it. I called for the kids to come take a look. I took the doll out of the washer and pretended that Lou Lou had changed. My daughter loved this doll. I said “Lou Lou is cured”. She told me “No, since she looks better I am going to name her Mianna.”  WOW! I have never heard the name Mianna, but I love it. I loved it more that she was so happy.

2 Comments Post a comment
  1. Ginny Marie #

    You did what you had to do! I just love the names kids come up with for their toys. They come up with the best ones!

    October 19, 2012

Leave a Reply

