Skip to content

Farm Life

The ducks and chicks are keeping me pretty busy. The ducks, well, there is no easy way to say this…they stink. Every couple of days we have to change their bedding. They gobble down the water, and I think they spit it at each other when I am not looking. The chickens are not as stinky, and we do change their bedding once a week. We have clipped the wings of the first batch, and we are going to YOUTube the next batch that we clip. The dicks are super high maintenance too. WOW! I have to give them fresh water every couple of hours. They look so cute as they cuddle up to each other when I go change their water too. I will have to get some photos. Every time I go out there to “just take photos” I have something else I have to do for them. UGH! The person that said “Farm life is relaxing.” did not farm.

 

Terreni D' Oro Chickens

Terreni D’ Oro Chickens

We also have been changing the chicken coop area. The chickens are not big enough to stay in their house just yet, so they stay in the garage…ya know, like all businesses start in a garage our little farm is starting in the garage too. We have added posts, or I should say my husband and the children did all the work for adding the posts around the chicken area. We also added some bushes, and trees so the chickens would have areas to look for insects. We want our chickens to be happy California chickens. I went to Lowes, and got a cute arch to add to the chicken area. We will put the arch where the wisteria is, and allow the wisteria to grow up and around the arch. The wisteria reminds me of Piedmont, California. Piedmont, is where we spent many years up north. I hope to post a little more often now that life is a little more organized, and I am back on a schedule.

Rockridge Chickens at Terreni D' Oro

Rockridge Chickens at Terreni D’ Oro

One Comment Post a comment
  1. cute little birds :)

    March 27, 2014

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 227 other followers

